The words arrive


It has been six months since my last post on this blog, in fact, it has been almost six months since I have written anything at all – no short stories, nothing on my novel, no journal writing, note-taking or even scribbles.  Two years ago I started a legal proceeding against my father and the last six months have almost completely been focused on trying to get through all of the legal hoops leading up to trial and retain at least a small thread of sanity.  This, combined with medication for anxiety, completely dissipated my desire to write.

A week ago the trial was set down for the District Court sittings commencing 3rd September, 2012. On Sunday, 1st July, 2012 my father took his own life.

Needless to say, the days since Sunday have been a bit of a blur.

But now, after a 3000 kilometre journey of closure, I am sitting in a motel room in the town where I was born, which I have not seen since my parents left here when I was six weeks old.

Driving into the small country town, it felt like the mountains were hugging me and welcoming me home. It has been an emotional return for a number of reasons and the urge to write has been overwhelming from the moment I saw the mountains in the distance.

I have no idea if the desire to write and the creativity that is enveloping me at the moment will last very long, but I am hoping the absence of fear and feelings of freedom that have resulted from my father’s passing will translate into many more words on the page in the coming weeks, months and years.

4 responses to “The words arrive

  1. Hello my dear friend….my heart goes out to you, but at last, you have some kind of closure from the pain you’ve endured. Take gentle care and I hope you keep on writing…Hugs from a friend! 🙂

    • Hi Dolores, thank you for your hugs. I am on the last leg of my journey home. My daughter and I have travelled almost 4ooo kilometres this week in search of closure and I am feeling a lot better than I was. My desire to write is increasing every day so I hope that I will get some of the words out when I get home.

  2. You write beautifully — I am so sorry to hear of all of the hardships you have born and continue to bear. Writing has always helped me through my roughest times, and I hope you will continue to utilize your obvious talent and that it helps you as well

Leave a Reply

