Hidden creativity


How many of us allow our creative sides to take a back-seat to our ‘real’ lives?

Since I ‘came out’ about my writing, I have been approached by so many people who have said, “I write too!”, or “That’s what I want to do too!”  In my office alone I have discovered authors, poets, photographers, and artists.  I am sure if I dig a bit deeper I might even find a musician or two.

It seems such shame that there are so many of us caught up in the day-to-day grind of making ends meet that our creativity is hidden or put on the back-burner of ‘one day…’.

It is scary to say out loud that we have a hidden passion.  To change our thought processes and identify ourselves as a writer, artist, photographer etc instead of an administration assistant, manager, clerk or what-have-you takes courage.  Allowing others to view our creativity for the first time leaves us feeling unsure and vulnerable – what if people don’t like what we do?

Most of us are taught that creativity will not pay the bills, that we must have a ‘proper’ job, and that we should keep our talents hidden.  Few are lucky enough to have parents that encourage us to express ourselves creatively.  Even fewer have parents who encourage us to seek a living based on our creativity.  So the majority of us are left to dabble in creativity as a hobby, or even worse, ignore the creative side of ourselves altogether.

As a person who has so recently rediscovered the joy of writing that I knew as a child, I encourage all of you to embrace your creative sides and wholeheartedly engross yourselves in whatever form of creative expression takes your fancy.  Stop hiding your talent and start telling everyone about what you do.  Share your work, because there is no greater joy than seeing someone else get pleasure from reading your story, reciting your poem, admiring your painting, or listening to one of your songs.

2 responses to “Hidden creativity

  1. Thanks for this post, and ‘Seeking discipline’. They were exactly what I needed to read tonight: a reminder that there’s more happiness in the struggle to create than in unaccomplished relaxation.

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the posts. It is definitely easy at times to forget the simple joy of creativity – I need the reminder as much as anyone at the moment 🙂

Leave a Reply

